20/20 Project: Lesson 1 Learn Life Skills

Finally ready to get this writing journey off the ground. 

Lesson 1: Learn Life Skills

As a child, I wanted to spend all of my waking moments outside. Whether it be in the show barn, riding in a truck or tractor with my dad, playing sports, or swimming; outside was where I wanted to be. If I was given a choice between helping mom clean the house or helping dad do some ridiculous chore, like picking up rocks out of a field, I was undoubtedly choosing the chore that was outside. I did not enjoy anything centered around cleaning, cooking, dishes, sewing or anything else that required me to sit still. You can verify with my mother and all my childhood friends- my room was probably the messiest and most disastrous monstrosity any of them have ever seen. I didn’t have time to clean I had things to do. (and if you ask the hubs I still am the messiest individual he knows, but I promise I have really upped my cleaning skills! )

Fast forward to high school where we had the opportunity to take many different classes as electives. I, to no surprise of those who know me, made all my electives FFA classes no matter if it was a topic I was super engaged in or not, because there was no way I wanted to take Home Economics or Shop. Why would I ever need to learn those things? Boy, do I wish I could go back and make a change…

It wasn’t until about week 4 or 5 of college dorm food that I was calling mom and telling her I needed to know how to make some food and was already bored with my cafeteria food options. My hubs, then boyfriend, luckily lived in an apartment where I could go and get something other than dorm food, but its also when I realized I HAVE NO IDEA HOW TO COOK!

Through trial and error, many phone calls to mom asking her where I could find things in a grocery store, a few oops and some lets just get take out over the years, I have slowly but surely learned to cook. I still have some fails – don’t worry the hubs will be more than happy to tell you about them – but I have also had times when multiple family members have went back for seconds.

So the moral of these stories is I wish I would have been better prepared for basic life skills. Cooking, cleaning or keeping house, sewing, woodworking, etc. if there is an opportunity in your life to learn the basics grab it up. It doesn’t have to be your passion, but if you have a good understanding it will come in handy so many times over and over. You won’t have to rely on someone else for minor problems and basic needs.

While cookie dough, beer, carry out pizza and popcorn sound like living your best life in college – it also will be the best path to the Freshman 15. Live a healthier life by learning how to cook an egg for breakfast, grill meat, etc. Wow your friends and treat yourself with basic baking skills. I  have always been told the key to a man’s heart is through his stomach…

So seize the opportunity, learn those basic skills that so many of us are lacking today and watch how many times in your life they pay off. In the meantime, I have a few more skills to tackle, sewing and woodworking, but I guess that gives me something to work for in my 30s.

 

pie

Throwback picture to that time Grandma and I baked LOTS of Pies to fulfill a deal I made with my sales team at Prairieland FS.

Leave a comment